“I Have Learned…”

I’ve learned –
that you cannot make someone love you.
All you can do is
be someone who can be loved.
The rest is up to them.

I’ve learned –
that no matter how much I care,
some people just don’t care back…

I’ve learned –
that you can get by on charm
for about fifteen minutes.
After that, you’d better know something.

I’ve learned –
that you shouldn’t compare
yourself to the best others can do
but to the best you can do…

I’ve learned –
that you can keep going
long after you think you can’t…

I’ve learned –
that my best friend and I can do anything
or nothing and have the best time.

I’ve learned –
that sometimes the people you expect
to kick you when you’re down
will be the ones to help you get back up…

I’ve learned –
that true friendship continues to grow,
even over the longest distance.
Same goes for true love…

I’ve learned –
that your family won’t always
be there for you. It may seem funny
but people you aren’t related to
can take care of you and love you
and teach you to trust people again.
Families aren’t biological.

I’ve learned –
that no matter how good a friend is
they’re going to hurt you
every once in a while
and you must forgive them for that…

I’ve learned –
that no matter how bad
your heart is broken
the world doesn’t stop for your grief.

I’ve learned –
that our background and circumstances
may have influenced who we are
but we are responsible for who we become.

I’ve learned –
that we don’t have to change friends
if we understand that friends change.

I’ve learned –
that there are many ways of falling
and staying in love.

I’ve learned –
that no matter the consequences
those who are honest with themselves
get farther in life.

I’ve learned –
that your life can be changed
in a matter of hours
by people who don’t even know you.

I’ve learned –
that even when you think
you have no more to give
when a friend cries out to you,
you will find the strength to help.

I’ve learned –
that writing, as well as talking
can ease emotional pains.

I’ve learned –
that credentials on the wall
do not make you a decent human being.

I’ve learned –
that the people you care most about in life
are taken from you too soon.

I’ve learned –
that it’s hard to determine
where to draw the line
between being nice and
not hurting people’s feelings
and standing up for what you believe.

-(D.Eckstein)

12 thoughts on ““I Have Learned…”

  1. happy new year i am back cirke again…i ‘ve learned also n dpwde mpalagpas ang blog mo….

  2. ang emo naman nito manager!

  3. Happy New Year! Ang ganda ng post.. Parang…recap ng kung anong nangyari for the past year? Hehehe.

  4. so true… one of your best posts, dear.🙂 here’s to 2014, Biatch, whatever it may hold…

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

